Water quality testing at a Fijian school


The Republic of Fiji is made up of about 300 islands spread over an area of 18,376 square kilometers. There are only about 100 inhabited islands. The four largest islands, Viti Levu, Vanua Levu, Taveuni and Kadavu are surrounded by coral reefs. Fiji's population is about 780,000, comprised of mostly indigenous Fijians and Fijian-Indians, with the remainder of the population including Rotumans, Chinese, other Pacific Islanders and Europeans. Indigenous Fijians have a culture and language that is fairly homogonous with hereditary chiefs and patrilineal descent. Indians first came to Fiji as indentured laborers under the British rule.

Fiji has a tropical oceanic climate. The rainy season is from November to April (also classified as the cyclone season) and cooler months from May to October. 

Fiji’s economy is based on mainly agriculture and tourism. Sugar is Fiji’s main export produce. Other exports that have contributed to Fiji’s economy are dalo, coconut oil, cocoa, ginger and kava.